Sponsored by IMG Academy

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Talbert Sportsmanship Award Winners Announced

I'm a little late on this, as the announcement of the 2007 Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award recipients was made earlier this month at the USTA meeting in Naples, Florida. Pictured below are the four winners, Alexa Glatch, Michael Sicora, Alison Riske and Evan King. To my knowledge, the USTA did not send out a press release, but this is a much sought-after honor, as it includes an invitation to Newport, Rhode Island for the Hall of Fame induction ceremony and tournament. Families who have gone tell me they are treated like royalty, and that for their son or daughter, it is one of the highlights of their junior tennis careers. As with Sam Querrey receiving the honor last year, Alexa Glatch's selection is more a junior lifetime achievement award than for the particular year; Glatch played only one junior tournament in 2007, at Roland Garros.

Next to each photo I've put the player's name, with a link to their section's write up about their award (except for Alison Riske, who isn't featured by Middle States. She is on her way to Moscow, however, as a Fed Cup hitting partner for this weekend's tie).
Alexa Glatch
Evan King

Michael Sicora