Sponsored by IMG Academy

Sunday, January 17, 2016

Paul Wins Plantation Futures, Hanfmann takes Long Beach Title; ITF Grade 1 Update; Orange Bowl Videos

Tommy Paul won his third career Futures title today in the $10,000 event in Plantation, defeating Adrien Puget of France 7-6(4), 6-0. The second-seeded Puget, a former UCLA Bruin, served for the first set at 5-4, saved a set point at 5-6, but did not win a point on serve in the tiebreaker until he was down 6-3. The 18-year-old Paul, a wild card, but the tournament's top seed, needed only 23 minutes to close out the match and the title. All three of Paul's Futures titles, the two in Europe last spring and today's, came on clay courts.

Former college stars went 1-1 against 18-year-old Americans today, with Germany's Yannick Hanfmann, the recent USC No. 1, beating Michael Mmoh 6-4, 6-0 at the $25,000 Futures in Long Beach, California. Hanfmann was broken to open the match and serving for the first set at 5-3, but he broke to win the opening set and converted six of eight break points in the match to claim his third Futures title, the first in the US and the first above the $10,000 level.

At the women's $25,000 tournament in Daytona Beach, No. 3 seed Ons Jabeur of Tunisia defeated 17-year-old Olga Fridman of Ukraine 0-6, 6-2, 6-4 in the final.

At the ITF Grade 1 in Venezuela, University of Illinois recruit Gui Gomes won the doubles title, partnering Tiago Cacao of Portugal. The unseeded team defeated No. 4 seeds Dan Added and Matteo Martineau of France 6-3, 6-1 in the final. In the singles finals, top seed Olesya Pervushina of Russia defeated No. 6 seed Dominique Schaefer of Peru 6-0, 6-2 for her second Grade 1 title. No. 3 seed Gabriel Decamps of Brazil took the boys title, beating No. 11 seed Zizou Bergs of Belgium 6-2, 6-4 in the final.

At the Traralgon Grade 1 in Australia, No. 9 seed Ulises Blanch is the only American still competing, with Abi Altick and Zeke Clark losing in their second round matches.  Top seed Mate Valkusz of Hungary, who retired in his first round singles match (it now looks as if he might have lost the opening set to Jack Mingjie Lin of Canada) is still playing doubles, so it may have been a precautionary retirement in singles. Girls No. 2 seed Charlotte Robillard-Millette of Canada lost her second round match to Kaja Juvan of Slovenia 6-4, 6-3.

I've finished processing the Metropolia Orange Bowl videos, with those of champions Miomir Kecmanovic and Bianca Andreescu below. The 16s champions and the four finalists are available by clicking on the links below.  Some of the 16s videos are from the semifinals, with the rain on the final day creating some difficulties in getting videos from all four finals.

Kayla Day
Stefanos Tsitsipas
Maria Carle, 16s champion
Gabriela Tatarus
Sebastian Baez, 16s champion
Karl Friberg


Vamos said...

Saw a press article from UCLA stating Marcos Grion was now an asst. coach. Has he given up pro inspirations and gone back to finish UCLA?

Colette Lewis said...

He's recovering from hip surgery, not retiring.

Title Nine said...

Rachael James-Baker is listed as a Senior at North Carolina. She started playing at NC State, 2012 for two yrs, transferred to Baylor,( played her junior year 2014-15) for one year, and now is playing at North Carolina( listed as a Senior) . Is she Eligible to play this season for the Tar Heels ? How did she transfer to three schools without sitting out a year? http://www.goheels.com/ViewArticle.dbml?ATCLID=210282490&DB_OEM_ID=3350

Colette Lewis said...

As long as the school being left releases a player, they can play again immediately. Tennis does not have the same rule on transferring as basketball/football.

TIM said...

I thought it was if you transfer to a different conference and they release you, you don't have to sit out a year. For example, in the SEC, I think you have to wait a year to play at another SEC school. For instance, if you transferred from GEORGIA to FLORIDA, you'd have to sit out a year (presuming the coaches released you), unless the rules have changed. Whereas if you started at an SEC school and went to the Big 12, you'd not have to sit out, as long as the coaches released you.

So she went from ACC to Big 12 to ACC again, so that was fine.

AR Hacked Off said...

not sure how she gets away with transferring 2x from D1 to D1.
I have seen the D1-JUCO-D! before but my understanding was you get one transfer D1 to D1 provided you get released you can play immediately. As for conference rules there maybe more in depth, but rarely do you see a player be allowed to play immediately with an in-conference transfer, so it rarely happens.