Sponsored by IMG Academy

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Complete Fields Announced for Next Month's USTA/ITA Indoor Intercollegiate Championships; Results of No-Ad Poll

Virginia's Julia Elbaba, who qualified today in the Texas Challenger,
received a wild card into the Indoor Championships

The complete fields for next week's USTA/ITA Indoor Intercollegiate Championships at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in New York were released today.  Many of the participants were already known based on the results of the ITA All-American Championships and the USTA/ITA Regional Championships, but there are wild cards and at-large bids added.

Men's singles:
Harrison Adams, Texas A&M (at large)
Axel Alvarez Llamas, Oklahoma (Central regional winner)
Nicolas Alvarez, Duke (All-American quarterfinalist)
Gonzales Austin, Vanderbilt (at large)
Fernando Borgajo, Armstrong State (small college Super Bowl winner)
Romain Bogaerts, Wake Forest (All-American semifinalist)
Roberto Cid, South Florida (ITA wild card)
Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech (at large)
Henry Craig, Denver (Mountain regional winner)
Tom Fawcett, Stanford, (Northwest regional winner)
Yannick Hanfmann, Southern Cal (All-American finalist)
Soren Hess-Olesen, Texas (at large)
Jared Hiltzik, Illinois (at large)
Dominik Koepfer, Tulane (All-American quarterfinalist)
Thai Kwiatkowski, Virginia (All-American semifinalist)
Julian Lenz, Baylor, (All-American quarterfinalist)
Winston Lin, Columbia (Northeast regional winner)
Mackenzie McDonald, UCLA (All-American consolation winner)
Ashok Narayana, Columbia (host wild card)
Cameron Norrie, TCU (Texas regional winner)
Lukas Ollert, Auburn (Southern regional winner)
Nathan Pasha, Georgia (All-American quarterfinalist)
Brayden Schnur, North Carolina (Carolina regional winner)
Ryan Shane, Virginia (Atlantic regional winner)
Austin Smith, Georgia (Southeast regional winner)
Sebastian Stiefelmeyer, Louisville (All-American winner)
Jason Tahir, Duke (USTA wild card)
Leandro Toledo, Minnestoa (ITA wild card)
Mikael Torpegaard, Ohio State (Midwest regional winner)
Jonny Wang, Southern Cal (Southwest regional finalist)
Andrew Watson, Memphis (Ohio Valley regional winner)
Dane Webb, Oklahoma (at large)

Women's singles:
Brooke Austin, Florida (All-American semifinalist)
Natalie Beazant, Rice (at large)
Emina Bektas, Michigan (Midwest regional winner)
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt (Ohio Valley regional winner)
Hayley Carter, North Carolina, (All-American semifinalist)
Lynn Chi, Cal (at large)
Danielle Collins, Virginia (USTA wild card)
Courtney Colton, Vanderbilt (at large)
Valentine Confalonieri, Lynn (small college Super Bowl winner)
McKenzie Davis, Utah State (Mountain regional winner)
Julia Elbaba, Virginia (ITA wild card)
Saska Gavrilovska, Texas A&M (ITA wild card)
Lorraine Guillermo, Pepperdine (at large)
Julia Jones, Mississippi (Southern regional winner)
Josie Kuhlman, Florida (Southeast regional winner)
Jamie Loeb, North Carolina (All-American consolation winner)
Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State (Central regional winner)
Maegan Manasse, Cal (at large)
Brianna Morgan, Florida (at large)
Stephanie Nauta, Virginia (Atlantic regional winner)
Giuliana Olmos, Southern Cal (at large)
Caroline Price, North Carolina (Carolina regional winner)
Zoe Scandalis, Southern Cal (Southwest regional winner)
Blair Shankle, Baylor (at large)
Ilinca Stoica, Virginia Tech (at large)
Zsofi Susanyi, Cal (ITA wild card)
Kanika Vaidya, Columbia (host wild card)
Chanelle Van Nguyen, UCLA (All-American finalist)
Despoina Vogasari, Houston (Texas regional winner)
Jessica Wacnik, Boston College (Northeast regional winner)
Stephanie Wagner, Miami (at large)
Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan (at large)

The doubles teams participating can be found at the ITA website.

Two notable women who qualified for the Indoor are not playing: Northwest regional winner Carol Zhao of Stanford and All-American winner Robin Anderson of UCLA.   Anderson, who won the Indoor in 2012, is not injured, as she received a wild card into the $50,000 Pro Circuit event this week in New Braunfels, Texas and plays her first round match against Irina Falconi on Wednesday.

Speaking of New Braunfels, Julia Elbaba of Virginia qualified into the main draw, defeating former WTA No. 7 Nicole Vaidisova of the Czech Republic 4-6, 6-4, 6-3 in today's final round of qualifying.  Former Stanford star Kristie Ahn also earned a place in the main draw with a 6-2, 6-1 win over Katerina Stewart.

I will not be going to the Indoor for the first time since 2003 because it is being played in the no-ad format.  The blog Chalk Flew Up conducted a poll earlier this month to gauge the support among those outside the college tennis coaching community and those results are available. Although it is a small sample size of just 58, nearly 75% of those taking the poll are against the no-ad format.  In addition to the poll, the post also includes comments from some of the respondents.


RH said...

Any idea why Robin Anderson isn't playing the Indoors?

Wondering said...

Colette, any update on Sabrina Santamaria? How is her recovery going? Will she be out on the court in January?