Sponsored by IMG Academy

Friday, April 29, 2011

Eight Chosen for ITA Men's Hall of Fame; Sasha Schmid Named Women's Coach at Missouri; Ryan Lipman in College Spotlight; US Juniors Win in Mexico

The complete list of the 2011 inductees into ITA Men's Collegiate Hall of Fame has bee announced. Former Stanford players dominate, with Scott Davis, Jim Grabb, Gene Mayer and Jonathan Stark returning to Palo Alto to be enshrined. UCLA's Marcel Freeman, Pepperdine's Simon Aspelin and Tim Cass, formerly at Texas A&M, and now at New Mexico, round out this year's class. The induction ceremonies are Wednesday, May 25th, the evening of the first round of the NCAA Individual Championships, on the Stanford campus.

Sasha Schmid, the head coach at Stetson for the past ten years, has been named women's head coach at the University of Missouri. Schmid takes over from interim coach Stephen Stuckenschneider, who replaced Blake Starkey in January. More on Schmid's background can be found at Big12sports.com.

The USTA's College Spotlight features Vanderbilt sophomore Ryan Lipman. Lipman talks about staying close to home, his Plan B, and where he hopes to be in ten years.

The North American qualifying for the ITF junior team events is underway in Mexico, and all four US teams earned victories on the first day of competition. There was one change from the previously announced teams, with Justin Butsch replacing Spencer Papa on the Junior Davis Cup team. The ITF has a new page for tracking the team events, and I once I get used to knowing where to look for what, I think it will prove very useful.

In Vero Beach today, both Bjorn Fratangelo and Dan Kosakowski lost in the quarterfinals, but qualifier Mitchell Frank won his seventh match of the tournament, defeating No. 2 seed and 418th-ranked Matteo Marrai of Italy 3-6, 6-0, 6-3. Frank will face his fellow unseeded qualifier Gabriel Moraru of Romania in the semifinals Saturday.

For complete results, see the Pro Circuit page at usta.com.