Sponsored by IMG Academy

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Frilling Wins Gator Fall Classic; Dimitrov Wins Second Futures Since US Open Jrs., USTA Urges Voting for Krueger

There are always several freshmen that burst onto the scene in women's college tennis during the fall, and this year Kristy Frilling of Notre Dame is one of several filling that role. The Sidney Ohio left-hander won the Gator Fall Classic in Gainesville, Fla., beating University of Florida's Marit Boonstra and Anastasia Revzina in the semifinals and finals today, and teaming with Kelcy Tefft to take the doubles title as well. Unfortunately, Frilling isn't competing in the Riveria All-American, according to the ITA selection site, but perhaps she'll get an ITA wild card into the Indoor tournament at Virginia in November. Florida's website has an account of Frilling's win here.

Another freshman having a great fall is Georgia's Chelsey Gullickson, who beat NCAA champion Amanda McDowell 6-3, 6-3 today at the Georgia Tech Invitational. Gullickson will be at the Riveria All-American; she received a wild card into qualifying which starts next Tuesday.

Wimbledon and U.S. Open boys champion Grigor Dimitrov decided not to rest after his victory in New York and has won both the $15,000 ITF men's events he's played since then, both in Spain. He defeated former Duke star Ludovic Walter of France 6-4 6-4 today, according to this story from the Sofia news agency.

And finally, Sally Milano at usta.com has the story on how Mitchell Krueger came to be nominated for the Sports Illustrated Sports Kid of the Year. Although Krueger has been in Spain, perhaps in conjunction with an exchange centered around the Davis Cup tie, he is not on the Junior Davis Cup team. That competition begins in Mexico on Tuesday, with Evan King, Denis Kudla, and Raymond Sarmiento representing the U.S. The Junior Fed Cup U.S. team is Krisite Ahn, Christina McHale and Sloane Stephens. The ITF preview of the competition is here.

To vote for Mitchell Krueger for Sports Kid of the Year, click here. Entries close at noon EDT on Monday, September 22nd.