Sponsored by IMG Academy

Monday, February 12, 2007

Junior News

The Bill Talbert Junior Sportsmanship Award announcement is a big deal to me, and I presume to the winners and their families, but I am never able to find a USTA press release about it. (Although this usta.com page has a list of winners from 1988-2005). I knew the four players had been notified when a Nashville newspaper made a brief mention of Houston Barrick's selection, and the Southwest section published this announcement naming Kacie Wagner as a winner late last month. If anyone knows who the other two national winners are, I'd like to print their names. They are invited to the International Tennis Hall of Fame to receive their awards, and this year's inductees include Pete Sampras and Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario.

Another player I would expect to receive consideration for the Talbert award when he is a bit older is Evan King. But in the meantime, he's been named the Chicago district's boys' Junior Tennis Player of the Year. This Sun-Times article features King and the girls' winner, Elizabeth Epstein.

King is getting quite a bit of press in Chicago these days. Last month, the Chicago Tribune published this article about him, which is very much in the vein of the Miami Herald story that came out during the Junior Orange Bowl.


Anonymous said...


Colette Lewis said...

As soon as I hear anything, I'll post it. I know how eager everyone is to know the USTA's decision.

Colette Lewis said...

The other two Bill Talbert Sportsmanship award winners for 2006 are Sam Querrey and Ashley Turpin of Texas.

Anonymous said...

Here's some junior news: Denis Kudla won a Grade 5 ITF event today. He only dropped one set in the tournament. Nice job!

Anonymous said...

Kudla wins again! This time a Grade 4 ITF event. He beat Eddie Herr winner Yasutaka Uchiyama 7-6(3), 6-1 in the final. Once again, he only dropped one set in the tournament. He'll be in the top 350 once the rankings are updated.