Schedule a training visit to the prestigious Junior Tennis Champions Center in College Park, MD by clicking on the banner above

Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Florida's Ben Shelton and Defending Champion Emma Navarro of Virginia Lead NCAA Division I Singles Selections; Macavei Among Qualifiers at $100,000 Tournament in Bonita Springs; Kalieva Top Seed at Daytona Beach $25K

The Division I individual selections were released this evening by the NCAA, as well as the seedings for the men's and women's singles and doubles tournament scheduled to take place at the University of Illinois May 23-28. The draws will not be posted until the day before competition begins.

Men's Division I Singles Seeds:
1. Ben Shelton, Florida
2. Daniel Rodrigues, South Carolina
3. Adam Walton, Tennessee
4. Liam Draxl, Kentucky
5. Adrian Boitan, Baylor
6. August Holmgren, San Diego
7. Stefan Dostanic, Southern California
8. Cannon Kingsley, Ohio State

9-16 seeds:
Juan Carlos Aguilar, TCU
Clement Chidekh, Washington
Johannus Monday, Tennessee
Arthur Fery, Stanford
Luc Fomba, TCU
Nikola Slavic, Mississippi
Hamish Stewart, Georgia
Matej Vocel, Ohio State

Men's doubles seeds:
1. Jacob Fearnley and Luc Fomba, TCU
2. Matej Vocel and Robert Cash, Ohio State
3. Finn Bass and Sven Lah, Baylor
4. Cleeve Harper and Richard Ciamarra, Texas

5-8 seeds:
Finlay Murgett and Tad McClean, Auburn
Ben Shelton and Sam Riffice, Florida
Eliot Spizzirri and Siem Woldeab, Texas
Bradley Frye and Stefan Dostanic, Southern California

A few notes on the men's field, which can be found here.  Liam Draxl of Kentucky, who was the top seed last year and lost in the semifinals, is seeded No. 4 this year. 2021 NCAA champion Sam Riffice of Florida is unseeded, as are defending doubles champions Adam Walton and Pat Harper of Tennessee. Ohio State has four players selected for the 64-player draw, the most of any school. The Buckeyes, Tennessee and TCU each have two seeded players.

Women's Division I Singles Seeds:
1. Emma Navarro, Virginia
2. Peyton Stearns, Texas
3. Petra Hule, Florida State
4. Daria Frayman, Princeton
5. Cameron Morra, North Carolina
6. Sarah Hamner, South Carolina
7. Eryn Cayetano, Southern California
8. Carson Branstine, Texas A&M

9-16 seeds:
Chloe Beck, Duke
Jaeda Daniel, NC State
Georgia Drummy, Duke
Shiori Fukuda, Pepperdine
McCartney Kessler, Florida
Mell Reasco, Georgia
Irina Cantos Siemers, Ohio State
Layne Sleeth, Oklahoma

1. Jaeda Daniel and Nell Miller, NC State
2. Elizabeth Scotty and Fiona Crawley, North Carolina
3. Emma Navarro and Hibah Shaikh, Virginia
4. Carol Lee and Kate Sharabura, Georgia Tech

5-8 seeds:
Alicia Herrero Linana and Melany Krywoj, Baylor
Tatsiana Sasnouskaya and Yuliia Starodubtseva, Old Dominion
Jayci Goldsmith and Tatiana Makarova, Texas A&M
Anna Brylin and Brooke Killingsworth, Wake Forest

A few notes on the women's field: Lea Ma of Georgia is listed as selected, but she was not in the lineup Georgia submitted for the team event. Challenges to those lineups are due today and the final lineups should be posted by noon on Thursday here. North Carolina's top five have all been selected to compete in the singles draw; Duke is the only team with two seeds.  Pepperdine's Janice Tjen, who was a surprise semifinalist last year while playing at Oregon, is not in the singles field. She played at lines 3 and 4 for the Waves most of the year, although she was submitted as their No. 1 player for the tournament. Tjen and Savannah Broadus were selected into the doubles tournament.

There are no men's USTA Pro Circuit tournaments this week, but the women have two: the $100,000 tournament in Bonita Springs Florida, which I mentioned yesterday, and a $25,000 tournament in Daytona Beach Florida.

Qualifying was completed at both events today, with four Americans advancing to the main draw in Bonita Springs and three in Daytona Beach.

Eighteen-year-old Sonya Macavei was the youngest of the quartet earning a place in the main draw in Bonita Springs. The Vanderbilt recruit, who received a wild card into qualifying, defeated No. 12 seed Michaela Bayerlova(Washington State) of the Czech Republic in a match tiebreaker yesterday and No. 3 seed Catherine Harrison 6-3, 2-6, 10-5 today. She is playing in just her third Pro Circuit tournament and this is her first above the $25K level.  She plays Robin Anderson in the first round Wednesday. Also advancing to the main draw are Kayla Day, Sophie Chang and Chanelle Van Nguyen(UCLA).

Wild cards were given to Whitney Osuigwe, Sachia Vickery, Ellie Douglas(TCU) and Fanny Norin(Florida Gulf Coast) of Sweden. Irina Bara of Romania is the top seed, with Tatjana Maria of Germany the No. 2 seed. 

In Daytona Beach, the American qualifiers were Rushri Wijesundera, Emma Davis(Wake Forest) and 17-year-old Eleana Yu. The main draw wild cards were given to Rachel Gailis, Qavia Lopez, Samantha Crawford and Didi Bredberg Canizares.

Eighteen-year-old Elvina Kalieva is the top seed, with Sofia Shapatava of Georgia the No. 2 seed. Seventeen-year-old Katrina Scott is the No. 3 seed, with another 17-year-old, Reese Brantmeier, also in the field.