Friday, April 30, 2021

April Aces; NCAA Tickets Go On Sale; Evans and Perego Win J4 Delray Beach Singles Titles; Liu and Vickery to Meet in Charlottesville $60K Semifinal; List of Seeds for USTA Level 1s Beginning Saturday

My monthly column for Tennis Recruiting Network is up today, with 16 of April's top performances. It includes all eight Easter Bowl singles champions, in case you missed that coverage earlier, and significant milestones for many former college players. In May, current college players will step into the spotlight.

If you want to see some of those players in person, the USTA National Campus has announced that tickets are available for the NCAA team and individual championships, beginning with the team round of 16 matches May 16 and extending through the singles and doubles finals May 28th. The NCAA is allowing 50% capacity for spring championships this year due to the pandemic. Tickets can be purchased here.

Qualifier Tatum Evans and No. 3 seed Giulio Perego of Italy won the singles titles at the J4 in Delray Beach. Evans, who won eight matches over the course of the past seven days, all in straight sets, defeated No. 8 seed Sonya Macavei 6-3, 7-6(5) in today's final for her first ITF Junior Circuit title. Perego, who has signed with Texas A&M for this fall, defeated No. 5 seed Jayden Templeman of Canada 6-1, 6-4 for his third ITF Junior Circuit singles title.

Samir Banerjee is through to the semifinals at the only J1 this week, in the Czech Republic.

The semifinals are set at the $60,000 USTA Pro Circuit women's tournament in Charlottesville Virginia, with Claire Liu and Sachia Vickery meeting Saturday for a place in the final. Liu advanced when No. 7 seed Harriet Dart of Great Britain gave her a walkover, while Vickery beat Allie Kiick 6-3, 7-5. The other semifinal will feature qualifier Katie Boulter, who beat wild card Alycia Parks 6-2, 6-3, against No. 6 seed Xinyu Wang of China.

The level 1 Sectional invitational tournaments the USTA added this spring begin tomorrow in eight locations across the country. Below is a list of the top eight seeds in each division. Click on the heading to see the draws.

B12s (Austin TX):
1. Trenton Kanchanakomtorn
2. Jack Secord
3. Liam Alvarez
4. Navneet Raghurman
5. Elliott Awomoyi
6. Izyan Ahmad
7. Colin McPeek
8. Drew Hassenbein

G12s (Virginia Beach VA):
1. Thea Frodin
2. Ciara Harding
3. Sena Yoon
4. Isabelle DeLuccia
5. Nancy Lee
6. Ana Avramovic
7. Maria Aytoyan
8. Filipa Delgado

B14s (Cary NC)
1. A Filer
2. Braeden Gelletich
3. Nicolas Iantosca
4. Jimin Jung
5. Evan Sharygin
6. Dominick Mosejczuk
7. Nicholas Patrick
8. Calvin Baierl

G14s (Tucson AZ)
1. Iva Jovic
2. Sydney Jara
3. Elena Zhao
4. Aspen Schuman
5. Addison Bowman
6. Claire Hill
7. Lauren Zhang
8. Capucine Jauffret

B16s (San Diego CA)
1. Landon Ardila
2. Quang Duong
3. Stephan Gershfeld
4. Creed Skinner
5. Dylan Tsoi
6. Mikkel Zinder
7. Cyrus Mahjoob
8. Xavier Calvelo

G16s (Tulsa OK)
1. Amber Yin
2. Audrey Spencer
3. Arina Oreshchenkova
4. Brooke Lynn Schafer
5. Tola Glowacka
6. Kinaa Graham
7. Diya Challa
8. Clara Zou

B18s (Indianapolis IN)
1. Alejandro Moreno
2. Nicholas Heng
3. Aadarsh Tripathi
4. Bjorn Swenson
5. Rohan Sachdev
6. Eric Li
7. Joshua Portnoy
8. Chad Miller

G18s (Mobile AL)
1. Kaitlyn Carnicella
2. Amelia Honer
3. Akari Matsuno
4. Theadora Rabman
5. Helen Sarikulaya
6. Natalie Stasny
7. Reya Coe
8. Bayley Sheinin