Wednesday, April 29, 2020

USTA's Annual Team USA Coaching Awards Announced; ITA Names Division III All-Americans, Yepifanova to Stanford, Zamarripa Twins to Texas

The USTA's Team USA coaching awards are always one of the highlights of the Easter Bowl, with coaches gathering in Indian Wells to honor their counterparts and mentors. With the tournament's cancellation this year, the gathering is not possible, so a press release will have to suffice for now.

Corey Gauff was named the 2019 Developmental Coach of the Year.

Northwest High Performance Tennis in Kirkland Washington was named Developmental Program of the Year.

USTA Eastern was named Player Development Section of the Year.

Jay Berger was honored as a Team USA Legendary Coach.

For more details on each honoree, as well as quotes from Martin Blackman, Kent Kinnear and Johnny Parkes on the recipients, read today's complete press release.

The ITA released the Division III All-Americans today, with 23 men and 25 women singles players receiving the coveted honor. As with Division I, there was no opportunity to earn All-America status at the NCAAs, so the honors come from rankings and performances in the major fall tournaments in 2019. Below are the singles All-Americans; the releases, which include the doubles lists, can be accessed by clicking on the headings below.

ITA Division III Men's Singles All-Americans:
Markus Nordby, Babson 
David Aizenberg, Brandeis
Leo Vithoontien, Carleton
James Hopper, Case Western Reserve
Nikolai Parodi, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Jack Katzman, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Scott Altmeyer, Colby
Antonio Mora, Emory
Hayden Cassone, Emory
Will Leach, George Fox
Indraneel Raut, Gustavus Adolphus 
Vishnu Joshi, Johns Hopkins
Jake Zalenski, Kenyon
Stanley Morris, Middlebury
Jed Kronenberg, Pomona-Pitzer
Sebastian Castillo-Sanchez, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Alexander Angradi, Salisbury
Cameron Krimbill, Trinity (TX)
Boris Sorkin, Tufts
Joshua Xu, Chicago
Jordan Brewer, University of the South
Ethan Hillis, Washington, St. Louis
Noah Lilienthal, Wesleyan

ITA Division III Women's Singles All-Americans:
Camille Smukler, Amherst
Jacqueline Bukzin, Amherst 
Grace Riermann, Bethel (MN)
Danna Taylor, Carnegie Mellon 
Vinaya Rao, Carnegie Mellon
Madeleine Paolucci, Case Western Reserve 
Justine Leong, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Catherine Allen, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Ysabel Gonzalez Rico, Emory 
Defne Olcay, Emory
Alexa Goetz, Emory
Amanda Bandrowski, Hope
Claire Hallock, Hope
Erika Oku, Kenyon 
Karina Jensrud, New York University
Maria Lyven, Pomona-Pitzer
Georgia Ryan, Pomona-Pitzer
Risa Fukushige, Skidmore College
Nina Mitrofanova, Southwestern (TX)
Lauren Park, Chicago
Serim Jin, Wesleyan
Caitlyn Ferrante, Wesleyan
Katie Fleischman, Wesleyan
Alexis Almy, Wesleyan
Andei Fukushige, Whitman

A couple of blue chip verbal commitments were revealed this week, with 2019 US Open girls finalist Alexandra Yepifanova choosing Stanford and Allura Zamarripa selecting Texas for 2021. Zamarripa's twin sister Maribella, a five-star recruit, has also chosen Texas, which featured twins Bianca and Anna Turati for the past four years.