Wednesday, November 4, 2015

National Indoor Fields Set; USTA Clay Court Invitational Begins Thursday; USTA Announces Lake Nona Managers; Wake Forest Lands Former ITF Top 20 Junior

The fields for next week's USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships in New York are set, with Monday's announcement of the at-large and wild card selections.

The women's field:
Taylor Davidson, Stanford, Northwest regional champion
Catherine Harrison, UCLA, Southwest regional finalist (replacing champion Luisa Stefani of Pepperdine)
Julia Elbaba, Virginia, Atlantic regional champion
Frances Altick, Vanderbilt, Ohio Valley regional champion
Hayley Carter, North Carolina, Carolina regional champion
Katarina Adamovic, Oklahoma St, Central regional champion
Brienne Minor, Michigan, Midwest regional champion
Nuria Ormeno Ruiz, Colorado, Mountain regional champion
Anna Shkudun, Syracuse, Northeast regional champion
Caroline Brinson, Georgia, Southeast regional champion
Andie Dikosavijevic, Auburn, Southern regional champion
Breaunna Addison, Texas, Texas regional champion
Danielle Collins, Virginia, Oracle champion
Maegan Manasse, Cal, All-American semifinalist
Ellen Perez, Georgia, All-American semifinalist
Sinead Lohan, Miami, All-American finalist
Jasmine Lee, Mississippi St, All-American consolation winner
Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong St, Small College Super Bowl champion
Star Makarome, Columbia, host wild card
Francesca Di Lorenzo, Ohio St, USTA wild card
Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan, ITA wild card (additional WC due to Collins winning Oracle and All-American titles)
Giuliana Olmos, Southern Cal, ITA wild card
Stephanie Wagner, Miami, at-large
Sydney Campbell, Vanderbilt, at-large
Joana Eidukonyte, Clemson, at-large
Despoina Vogasari, Houston, at-large
Anastasiya Rychagova, Kansas, at-large
Maiar Sherif Ahmed, Fresno St, at-large
Brooke Austin, Florida, at-large
Kourtney Keegan, Florida, at-large
Klara Fabikova, Cal, at-large
Belinda Woolcock, Florida, at-large

The men's field:
David Wilczynski, Stanford, Northwest regional champion
Martin Redlicki, UCLA, Southwest regional champion
Diogo Rocha, Denver, Mountain regional champion
Arthur Rinderknech, Texas A&M, Texas regional champion
Alex Ghilea, Oklahoma, Central regional champion
Herkko Pollanen, Ohio St, Midwest regional champion
Dovydas Sakinis, Dartmouth, Northeast regional champion
Sam Monette, Indiana, Ohio Valley regional champion
Joao Monteiro, Virginia Tech, Atlantic regional champion
Skander Mansouri, Wake Forest, Carolina regional champion
Max Hinnisdaels, Auburn, Southern regional champion
Roberto Cid, South Florida, Southeast regional champion
Thai Kwiatkowski, Virginia, All-American champion
Dominik Koepfer, Tulane, All-American finalist
Andre Goransson, Cal, All-American semifinalist
Tom Fawcett, Stanford, All-American semifinalist
Hugo Di Feo, Ohio St, All-American quarterfinalist
Konrad Zieba, Northwestern, All-American quarterfinalist
Uros Petronijevic, San Diego, All-American quarterfinalist
Mikael Torpegaard, Ohio St, All-American consolation winner
Cameron Norrie, TCU, Oracle champion
Shawn Hadavi, Columbia, host wild card
Jared Hiltzik, Illinois, USTA wild card
Nicolas Alvarez, Duke, ITA wild card
Kevin Konfederak, Georgia Gwinnett, Small College Super Bowl champion
Austin Smith, Georgia, at-large
Quentin Monaghan, Notre Dame, at-large
Guillermo Nunez, TCU, at-large
Christopher Eubanks, Georgia Tech, at-large
Benjamin Lock, Florida St, at-large
Chris Diaz, Ohio St, at-large
Diego Hidalgo, Florida, at-large (replacing Ronnie Schneider, North Carolina)

For the complete list of the 20 men's and 20 women's doubles teams participating, click here.  Two of the women's regional champions, Alabama's Erin Routliffe and Andie Daniell and Pepperdine's Luisa Stefani and Apichaya Runglerdkriangkrai, are not playing and have been replaced by at-large teams.  The Carolina regional men's champions Ian Dempster and Nick Horton of North Carolina State, have been replaced by Wake Forest's Romain Bogaerts and Maksim Kan, who were regional finalists.

The USTA Clay Court Invitational begins Thursday in Orlando, with Florida State's Michael Rinaldi and Georgia Tech's Nathan Rakitt the top seeds in the men's gold draw, and Florida's Josie Kuhlman and Brianna Morgan the top two seeds in the women's gold draw.  ESPN 3 will be streaming eight hours of coverage on Thursday and will also provide coverage of the finals on Sunday. The draws have the times of Thursday's first round matches being streamed, with matches beginning at 8 a.m.

Speaking of Orlando, the USTA announced its management team for its new National Campus in nearby Lake Nona, now under construction. Current USTA employee Kurt Kamperman will be the chief executive, while Craig Morris was hired as general manager for community tennis and youth tennis. Tim Cass was hired as the general manager of the National Campus. The complete USTA release can be found here.

And in college tennis recruiting news, Wake Forest has announced the addition, for January of 2016, of Petros Chrysochos of Cyprus, who had an ITF junior ranking as high as 19 last summer.  Currently ranked 495 by the ATP, Chrysochos won a Futures title earlier this year in Egypt. Wake also has Dennis Uspensky set to join the team in January.