Explore the Junior Tennis Champions Center's high performance program by clicking on the banner above

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

ITA National Award Winners

At today's luncheon at the University of Georgia, the ITA announced its National Award winners.  Players of the Year will be named later.

ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship-Greg Andrews, Notre Dame
Farnsworth/ITA Senior Player of the Year-Clay Thompson, UCLA
ITA Rookie Player of the Year-Brayden Schnur, North Carolina
ITA Player to Watch-Julian Lenz, Baylor
ITA/Rafael Osuna Award-Alex Domijan, Virginia
ITA Most Improved Senior-Peter Kobelt, Ohio State
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year-Andres Pedroso, Virginia
ITA Coach of the Year-John Roddick, Oklahoma
NCAA Elite 89 Award-Alen Salibasic, Drake

ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship-Belinda Niu, Northwestern
ITA Senior Player of the Year-Kristie Ahn, Stanford
ITA Rookie Player of the Year-Jamie Loeb, North Carolina
ITA Player to Watch-Hayley Carter, North Carolina
ITA/Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship-Maho Kowase, Georgia
ITS Most Improved Senior--Olivia Janowicz, Florida
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year-Troy Porco, Virginia
ITA Coach of the Year-Jamie Ashworth, Duke
NCAA Elite 89 Award-Emily Zabor, Alabama


really? said...

Will someone please kindly tell me how Jamie Ashworth won the Coach of the Year?

This award should be for a coach who has shown improvement? They have shown minimal at best.

Alabama, UVA & Cal has had way more improvements than Duke. The Duke players have not progressed. They even finished their season by getting upset by Georgia Teach & Clemson.

I know these awards become political but this one is baffling.

Anonymous said...

I agree. I'm not sure Jamie is coach of the year in the ACC.

Honest Is Best Policy said...

Howard Joffe should have won Coach of the Year last year and he should have won it again this year for upsetting UNC and Florida BOTH on their home courts this year. If Jamie Ashworth were asked to turn around Texas AM into a national powerhouse- it would never happen. Kids go to Duke because it is Duke. Thats the mark of a great coach, can they win in places where it is extremely hard historically and odds are stacked against them...

ACC/SEC said...

I'm sure Jamie deserves coach of the year for his National Indoor win. Plus, with it being nepotism, friends voting for friends I'm sure, he felt like he was deserving for making Sweet 16 last season with 4 players on scholarship in lineup.

Jenny Mainz won last year, great lady. There are many great coaches who don't lobby and have friends in high places who are quite deserving....

Texas Tech, Memphis, Houston, Tulsa, USF to name a few.

I'm sure there are some big name programs who have never won the award but been consistent top 10-15 coaches...but these coaches are not interested in rubbing shoulders to win this award. Kudos to them as well.

Wondering said...

What does the Osuna award represent? The other awards are self explanatory.

Tim - Michigan said...

Everyone makes great points.

Duke went from winning National Team Indoors to being seeded #5 in their conference tournament? How is that improvement? How does that deserve Coach of the year?

No way Jamie could turnaround a major school into a powerhouse like John Roddick just did at Oklahoma.

UNC, Cal, Alabama, LSU, Houston and USF all had way better years. That is coaching. There are more great examples out there.

Incredible the selection committee made that decision. TERRIBLE!