Monday, November 30, 2020

Twenty Years of Orange Bowl Champions

In preparation for the upcoming Orange Bowl, which begins Sunday for the 16s and a week from today for the 18s (qualifying starts Friday), I decided to post a list of the champions from the past 20 years. With the USTA no longer featuring any mention of past champions on the tournament website, I thought it might be worthwhile to review the champions, going back far enough to include most still competing on the tours. (The exception is the most famous Orange Bowl champion, Roger Federer, who will not make this list because he won the 18s in 1998). I began covering the tournament in 2005, and by clicking on the name of player, you will be sent to my coverage of the finals they appeared in. Note that I'm using the spelling of players' names that appears on the hard copy of the list the USTA used to distribute at the event.

Girls 18s Grade A (18s are an official ITF tournament)

2000 Vera Zvonareva, Russia

2001 Vera Zvonareva, Russia

2002 Vera Douchevina, Russia

2003 Nicole Vaidisova, Czech Republic

2004 Jessica Kirkland, USA

2005 Caroline Wozniacki, Denmark

2006 Nikola Hofmanova, Austria

2007 Michelle Larcher de Brito, Portugal

2008 Julia Boserup, USA

2009 Gabriela Dabrowski, Canada

2010 Lauren Davis, USA

*2011 Anett Kontaveit, Estonia

2012 Ana Konjuh, Croatia

2013 Vavara Flink, Russia

2014 Sofia Kenin, USA

2015 Bianca Andreescu, Canada

2016 Kaja Juvan, Slovenia

2017 Whitney Osuigwe, USA

2018 Coco Gauff, USA

2019 Robin Montgomery, USA

Boys 18s Grade A

2000 Todor Enev, Bulgaria

2001 Robin Soderling, Sweden

2002 Brian Baker, USA

2003 Marcos Bagdhatis, Cyprus

2004 Timothy Neilly, USA

2005 Robin Roshardt, Switzerland

2006 Petru-Alexandrud Lucanu, Romania

2007 Ricardas Berankis, Lithuania

2008 Yuki Bhambri, India

2009 Gianni Mina, France

2010 George Morgan, Great Britain

*2011 Dominic Thiem, Austria

2012 Laslo Djere, Serbia

2013 Frances Tiafoe, USA

2014 Stefan Kozlov, USA

2015 Miomir Kecmanovic, Serbia

2016 Miomir Kecmanovic, Serbia

2017 Hugo Gaston, France

2018 Otto Virtanen, Finland

2019 Thiago Tirante, Argentina

*first year held in Plantation 

Girls 16s (16s played with ITF rules, but no points awarded)

2000 Marion Bartoli, France

2001 Whitney Deason, USA

2002 Charlene Vanneste, France

2003 Alexa Glatch, USA

2004 Florencia Molinero, Argentina

2005 Oksana Kalashnikova, Georgia

2006 Allie Will, USA

2007 Lilly Kimbell, USA

2008 Chanelle Van Nguyen, USA

2009 Breaunna Addison, USA

2010 Allie Kiick, USA

2011 Erin Routliffe, Canada

2012 Gloria Liang, Canada

2013 Charlotte Robillard-Millette, Canada

2014 Bianca Andreescu, Canada

2015 Maria Lourdes Carle, Argentina

2016 Katie Volynets, USA

2017 Katriin Saar, Estonia

2018  Madison Sieg, USA

2019 Ashlyn Krueger, USA

Boys 16s:

2000 Brian Dabul, Argentina

2001 Floria Mergea, Romania

2002 Jose Luis Muguruza, Aruba

2003 Donald Young, USA

2004 Emiliano Massa, Argentina

2005 Gueorgui Roumenov Payakov, Spain

2006 Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgaria

2007 Bernard Tomic, Australia

2008 Denis Kudla, USA

2009 Alexios Halebian, USA

2010 Laurent Lokoli, France

2011 Hyeon Chung, Korea

2012 Andrey Rublev, Russia

2013 Yunseong Chung, Korea

2014 Sam Riffice, USA

2015 Sebastian Baez, Argentina

2016 Steven Sun, USA

2017 Nicholas David Ionel, Romania

2018 Pablo Ruiz Llamas, Spain

2019 Daniel Rincon, Spain