Sponsored by IMG Academy

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Wake Forest Men, Florida Women Stay No. 1 in ITA Division I Rankings; 2018 NCAA Championships Will Be Played in North Carolina; Pro Circuit Update; Ahn Earns First WTA Win in Mexico

The ITA released both team and individual rankings for Division I today, with no changes at the very top.  The Florida women and the Wake Forest men remain No. 1, as do Ohio State's Francesca Di Lorenzo and Mikael Torpegaard in singles. Even the doubles teams who were number 1 two weeks ago, when the last individual rankings were released have held on to their spots on top.

The only woman to move into the singles top 10 is Texas Tech's Gabriela Talaba; Aleks Vukich of Illinois and Arthur Rinderknech of Texas A&M made the jump in the men's singles rankings.

Complete rankings can be viewed by clicking on the headers below. For more on the college tennis rankings, see Texas College Tennis and College Tennis Today.

Women's Division I Team: (last week's ranking in parentheses)
1. University of Florida (1)
2. University of Georgia (3)
3. Ohio State University (2)
4. University of North Carolina (4)
5. Texas Tech University (6)
6. Georgia Tech (10)
7. Vanderbilt University (5)
8. University of Michigan (9)
9. Oklahoma State University (7)
10. Stanford (8)

Women's singles Top 10:
1. Francesca Di Lorenzo, Ohio State University (1)
2. Ena Shibahara, UCLA (3)
3. Hayley Carter, North Carolina(2)
4. Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt University (5)
5. Blair Shankle, Baylor University (4)
6. Sara Daavettila, North Carolina (9)
7. Viktoriya Lushkova Oklahoma State (10)
8. Luisa Stefani, Pepperdine (6)
9. Karla Popovic, California (7)
10. Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech University (17)

Women's doubles Top 5:
1. Hayley Carter and Jessie Aney, North Carolina (1)
2. Aldila Sutjiadi and Mami Adachi, University of Kentucky (4)
3. Christine Maddox and Mayar Sherif Ahmed, Pepperdine (3)
4. Kate Fahey and Alex Najarian, University of Michigan (2)
5. Jasmine Lee and Lisa Marie Rioux, Mississippi State (11)

Men's team Top 10:
1. Wake Forest University (1)
2. Ohio State University (2)
3. Baylor University (4)
4. University of Virginia (3)
5. University of Southern California (5)
6. University of Texas (6)
7. Texas A&M University (7)
8. Oklahoma State University (8)
9. TCU (16)
10. UCLA (10)

Men's singles Top 10:
1. Mikael Torpegaard, Ohio State University (1)
2. Petros Chrysochos, Wake Forest University (2)
3. Cameron Norrie, TCU (3)
4. Nuno Borges, Mississippi State (8)
5. Christopher Eubanks, Georgia Tech (9)
6. Aleks Vukic, University of Illinois (20)
7. Hugo Di Feo, Ohio State University (4)
8. Arthur Rinderknech, Texas A&M University (12)
9. Mike Redlicki, University of Arkansas (10)
10. Juan Benitez, Baylor University (5)

Men's doubles Top 5:
1. Christian Seraphim and Skander Mansouri, Wake Forest (1)
2. Filip Bergevi and Florian Lakat, California (4)
3. Jan Zielinski and Robert Loeb, University of Georgia (8)
4. Johannes Ingildsen and Alfredo Perez University of Florida (6)
5. Arjun Kadhe and Julian Cash, Oklahoma State University (2)

Having the top-ranked team in the country is always good news, but Wake Forest has additional reason to celebrate today, with the word that the North Carolina HB2 bill has been repealed, allowing Wake Forest to host the 2018 NCAA tournament as originally planned.  In a statement today, the NCAA Board of Governors acknowledged their reservations about the compromise bill enacted after the repeal, ending with this:

In the end, a majority on the NCAA Board of Governors reluctantly voted to allow consideration of championship bids in North Carolina by our committees that are presently meeting. The NCAA championships previously awarded to North Carolina for 2017-18 will remain in the state. The board, however, directs that any site awarded a championship event in North Carolina or elsewhere be required to submit additional documentation demonstrating how student-athletes and fans will be protected from discrimination.

This does not apply to the spring 2017 championships, which have already been moved, including the Division III Tennis Championships, which were to be held in Cary, NC but were moved to Chattanooga Tennessee.

After a bit of break on the USTA Pro Circuit, there are two $25,000 events this week, with the men in Memphis and the women just south in Jackson Mississippi.

The men's qualifying was completed Monday, with Nolan Paige(Stanford), Ryan Haviland(Stanford) and Winston Lin(Columbia) the Americans reaching the main draw.  Orange Bowl finalist Yibing Wu also advanced to the main draw via qualifying.  Mackenzie McDonald(UCLA) is the top seed, with wild cards going to Gonzales Austin(Vanderbilt), Korey Lovett(Central Florida), Jordan Parker and Ulises Blanch.

The women's qualifying was completed today, with Americans Lindsay Lee-Waters, Lauren Embree(Florida), Kaitlyn Christian(USC), Quinn Gleason(Notre Dame) earning places in the main draw. Fourteen-year-old Leylah Fernandez of Canada and Georgia Tech recruit Victoria Flores, who played both the ISC in Carson and the Easter Bowl, qualified into a Pro Circuit event for the first time in their careers with wins today.  Chelsea Kung, Maria Mateas, Sophie Chang and Meredith Roberts received wild cards. 

At the WTA International tournament in Monterrey Mexico, former Stanford star Kristie Ahn picked up her first tour win, a 6-2, 6-4 decision over Jana Cepelova of Slovakia. The 24-year-old from New Jersey, who won three qualifying matches, plays No. 2 seed Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova of Russia on Wednesday.