Sponsored by IMG Academy

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

ITA Regional Championships Complete; Neel, Collins, Bektas, Mueller Qualify in Macon $50K, Day Advances to Second Round

The ITA Division I Regional Championships wrapped up today, after two long weekends of action across the country.  The results of all 12 Regional singles finals are below. All 12 men's and women's regional champions have earned entry into the USTA/ITA Indoor Intercollegiate Championships next week in New York.  Click on the winner's school to see the athletic website reporting on the match (if available).

ATLANTIC: Marie Faure(5) William and Mary def. Derya Turhan(5), Marshall 3-6, 6-3, 7-6(6)

CENTRAL: Lily Miyazaki(5), Oklahoma def. Carla Tur Mari(9), Oklahoma State 6-3, 6-3.

SOUTHERN: Alizee Michaud(4), Auburn def. Andie Dikosavlijevic(1), Auburn, 6-2, 6-4.

MOUNTAIN: Claudia Herrero Garcia(6), Nevada def. Sheila Morales(17), Nevada 6-0, 7-5.

SOUTHWEST: Ashley Lahey(6), Pepperdine def. Zoe Katz(12), USC 6-2, 6-3.

TEXAS: Blair Shankle(2), Baylor def. Neda Koprcina(9), Texas 6-1, 6-0

OHIO VALLEY: Aidila Sutjiadi(2), Kentucky def. Sydney Campbell(1), Vanderbilt 6-2, 7-6(6)

CAROLINA: Sara Daavettila(1), North Carolina def. Jessie Aney(3), North Carolina 2-6, 7-6(4), 6-2

SOUTHEAST: Eleni Christofi(9), Georgia def. Josie Kuhlman(9), Florida 7-6(5), 2-6, 7-6(4)

MIDWEST: Kate Fahey(3), Michigan def. Alex Najarian(13), Michigan 6-2, 6-2

NORTHEAST: Valeria Salazar(5), Syracuse def. Jessica Livianu(3), St. John's 6-2, 6-3

NORTHWEST: Karla Popovic(5), Cal def.  Emma Higuchi(9), Stanford 6-2, 6-2

The other automatic bids for women:
Hayley Carter, North Carolina, (All-American semifinalist)
Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt, (All-American semifinalist)
Francesca Di Lorenzo, Ohio State, (All-American champion)
Ena Shibahara, UCLA, (All-American finalist, Oracle Masters champion)
Sinead Lohan, Miami, (All-American consolation winner)
Camille Gbaguidi, Savannah College of Art and Design, (Oracle Cup [small college] champion

That leaves 14 at-large and wild card spots yet to be filled in the women's Indoor draw.

Gage Brymer, photograph courtesy YourGameFace.com
NORTHWEST: Andre Goransson(1), Cal def. Filip Bergevi(5), Cal 6-4, 7-6(3)

SOUTHERN: Nuno Borges(5), Mississippi State def. Constantin Schmitz(5), Tulane 6-4, 5-7, 6-3.

CAROLINA: Skander Mansouri(1), Wake Forest def. Gabriel Friedrich(4) South Carolina 6-4, 6-4

ATLANTIC: JC Aragone(2), Virginia def. Jacob Dunbar(6), Richmond 6-1, 6-4

MOUNTAIN: Jacob Amilon(3), UNLV def. Kai Wehnelt(9), Utah State 6-4, 6-3

SOUTHWEST: Gage Brymer(2), UCLA def. Thibault Forget(4), USC 6-1, 7-6(3)

TEXAS: Arthur Rinderknech(1), Texas A&M def. Jolan Cailleau(2), Texas Tech 6-1, 7-5

CENTRAL: Jose Salazar(3), Arkansas def. Matic Spec, Minnesota 7-5, 2-6, 6-4

MIDWEST: Strong Kirchheimer(2), Northwestern def. Kevin Wong(14), Michigan 6-3, 6-0

OHIO VALLEY: Ryan Peniston(5), Memphis def. Trey Yates(13), Kentucky 6-0, 3-6, 6-4

SOUTHEASTERN: Guy Iradukunda, Florida State def. Wayne Montgomery(1), Georgia 3-6, 6-1, 6-3

NORTHEAST: Chris Vrabel(17), Cornell def. Josh Pompan(9), Penn 6-4, 6-4

The other automatic bids for the men:
Florian Lakat, Cal  (All-American quarterfinalist)
Alfredo Perez, Florida (All-American quarterfinalist)
Chris Eubanks, Georgia Tech, (All-American quarterfinalist)
Tom Fawcett, Stanford, (All-American quarterfinalist)
Christian Sigsgaard, Texas, (All-American semifinalist)
Mikael Torpegaard, Ohio State, (All-American semifinalist)
Hugo Di Feo, Ohio State, (All-American finalist)
Petros Chrysochos, Wake Forest, (All-American champion)
Brandon Holt, USC, (All-American consolation winner)
Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky, Oracle Masters champion
Oliver Frank, Azusa Pacific, (Oracle Cup [small college] champion)

That leaves nine at-large and wild card spots yet to be filled.

Bobby Knight has more on the Regionals at College Tennis Today.

Qualifying was completed today at the $50,000 women's USTA Pro Circuit tournament in Macon, Georgia, with four Americans advancing to the main draw.  Danielle Collins(2) defeated Yuliya Beygelzime of Ukraine 6-3, 7-6(5); Alexandra Mueller downed top qualifying seed Alyona Sotnikova of Ukraine 6-1, 6-2; Emina Bektas defeated former Michigan teammate Ronit Yurovsky 6-3, 7-5 and Ingrid Neel beat No. 4 seed Pia Konig of Austria 6-4, 6-2.  Collins will play Robin Anderson, Mueller drew No. 2 seed Jennifer Brady, Bektas faces wild card Jessica Wacnik and Neel will play No. 3 seed Rebecca Peterson of Sweden. Yurovsky won the lucky loser lottery and will play Ellie Halbauer in Wednesday's first round action.

Six first round matches were played today in addition to the final round of qualifying.  Top seed Samantha Crawford advanced and will play fellow US Open girls champion Kayla Day in the second round after Day defeated Bernarda Pera 6-2, 6-3.  2015 NCAA champion Jamie Loeb(UNC) beat No. 5 seed Taylor Townsend 7-5, 6-2.  Wild card Danielle Lao(USC) got past Kristie Ahn(Stanford) 6-4, 6-4 and No. 4 seed Grace Min defeated wild card Sabrina Santamaria(USC) 6-3, 6-3.

Live streaming at Macon, with Ken Thomas of radiotennis.com on the commentary, is available here.

Last night at the $50,000+H ITF Women's Circuit event in Mexico, Usue Arconada defeated No. 8 seed Laura Robson of Great Britain 6-4, 6-1 to advance to the second round.  Qualifier Hanna Chang won her match over Anna Zaja of Germany and will play fellow teenager Katie Swan of Great Britain in the second round.  Lauren Albanese and qualifier Nicole Coopersmith are the other Americans advancing to the second round.