Sponsored by IMG Academy

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Vickery, Mattek-Sands Qualify for Wimbledon; ITA Names Collegiate All-Stars, Oracle Masters Field

Qualifying was completed on schedule today at Wimbledon with Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Sachia Vickery advancing to the main draw.

Mattek-Sands, who has won the first two legs of a women's doubles Grand Slam with Lucie Safarova, is a veteran of the women's main draw, although she hasn't won a main draw match at Wimbledon since 2008, when she made the fourth round.  She defeated No. 11 seed Shahar Peer of Israel 6-1, 6-4 today and will learn her opponent when the draw is made on Friday.

At 20, Vickery is 10 years younger than Mattek-Sands, and she will be making her Wimbledon main draw debut. The No. 4 seed, who won the USTA 18s title in 2013, defeated Jessica Pegula 7-5, 7-5 in today's final round of qualifying.

Louisa Chirico, the No. 3 seed in qualifying, lost to Yi-Fan Xu of China 7-5, 6-3, but she drew the No. 1 lucky loser position, so if any of the 128 entries withdraw, she will get in.  Anna Tatishvili also lost in today's final round of qualifying going out to Ying-Ying Duan of China 6-2, 6-4.

For complete draws, see the Wimbledon website.

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced its Collegiate All-Star Team yesterday. These are the players who have been invited to the Oracle/ITA Outing & Awards Luncheon held at the West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, NY, on Friday, August 28, prior to the start of the US Open: (The Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award winners are also invited and are included below.)

Divison I Singles
Axel Alvarez, Oklahoma (ITA Player of the Year)
Ryan Shane, Virginia
Brayden Schnur, North Carolina
Sebastian Stiefelmeyer, University of Louisville (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)
Robin Anderson, UCLA (ITA Player of the Year)
Jamie Loeb, North Carolina
Julia Elbaba, Virginia
Lorraine Guillermo, Pepperdine University (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)

Division I Doubles
Diego Galeano and Julian Lenz, Baylor
Yannick Hanfmann and Robert Quiroz, Southern Cal
Lloyd Glasspool and Soren Hess-Olesen, Texas

Maya Jansen and Erin Routliffe, Alabama
Taylor Davidson and Carol Zhao, Stanford
Kyle McPhillips and Catherine Harrison, UCLA

Division II
Jan Meyer Azusa Pacific
Mark Heimberger, Palm Beach Atlantic University (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)
Dallas Zhang, BYU Hawaii
Lauren Howard, West Liberty University (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)

Division III
Warren Wood, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Tyler Carey, University of Mary Washington (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)
Eudice Chong, Wesleyan
Rebecca Curran, Williams College (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)

Deni Zmak, Embry-Riddle
Wesley Ng, Missouri Valley College (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)
Valeria Rodda, Georgia Gwinnett
Clara Ruegsegger, Olivet Nazarene University (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)

Junior and Community Colleges
Hironori Koyanagi, Ventura
Shane Trebisky, Meridian Community College (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)
Macarena Olivares, ASA
Cassidy McWhorter, Eastern Arizona College (Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award recipient)

Today the ITA announced the field for September's inaugural ITA/Oracle Masters, a tournament in Malibu for top Division I college players. See the singles fields below.  Notable absentees from the women's 2015 final Top 10 are: Carol Zhao, Jamie Loeb, Brooke Austin and Josie Kuhlman. Mackenzie McDonald of UCLA is a Top 10 men's player not competing. The doubles teams can be found in this article from the ITA.


Jtennis said...

The NAIA women's all star player's name is Valeria Podda not Rodda. ;