Sponsored by IMG Academy

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Field Set for ITA D'Novo All-American after Final Round of Qualifying; Rain Causes Problems in Women's All-American Qualifying

©Colette Lewis 2010--
Tulsa, OK--

It looks as if there won't be any repeat of last year's cold and wet weather in Tulsa, with the forecast calling for nothing but sunshine and warm temperatures throughout the weekend.

The final round of qualifying was completed today, with the following 16 players earning entry into the 64 draw:

Peter Lucassen, USC
Sadio Doumbia, Georgia
Finn Tearney, Pepperdine
Chris Kearney, UC Irvine
Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, Washington
Dean Jackson, San Diego
Blaz Rola, Ohio State
Ryan Thacher, Stanford
Jon Wolff, Wake Forest
Juan Spir, Georgia Tech
Matteo Fago, Tennessee
Benedikt Lindheim, Nebraska
Nick Meister, UCLA
Brennan Boyajian, North Carolina
Arem Baradach, SMU
Sebastian Faneslow, Pepperdine

Spir and Kearney have come through pre-qualifying, while Lindheim is a lucky loser from the pre-qualifying. The Pac-10 is the conference with the most qualifiers--four, from four different schools. Pepperdine is the only school with more than one player advancing to the main draw from qualifying.

There are plenty of intriguing first round matches tomorrow morning. I'm interested in Thacher vs. Ryan Lipman of Vanderbilt; Chase Buchanan(5) of Ohio State vs. Jeff Dadamo of Texas A & M and Steve Johnson(7) of USC vs. Reid Carleton of Duke, who has gotten off to a great start this year. I'm also eager to see Virginia's freshman Alex Domijan against Georgia's senior Javier Garrapiz, the No. 13 seed. Domijan, a wild card, is one of five Cavaliers in the main draw.

There are two rounds of singles and one round of doubles scheduled for Thursday, with singles beginning at 8 a.m. CDT.

Live scoring and video is available at the Tulsa athletic website.

For complete draws, see the ITA tournament site.

Rain in the Los Angeles area has disrupted qualifying for the women's Riviera ITA All-American. The draw has been posted however, with the 8 qualifiers to be placed when they are known.