Sponsored by IMG Academy

Friday, November 2, 2007

Unseeded Women's Doubles Champion Assured at ITA Indoor

©Colette Lewis 2007--
Columbus, OH--

The three and four seeded women's teams lost Friday morning at the Racquet Club of Columbus, and with yesterday's upsets of the top two seeds, the 2007 ITA Indoor Women's doubles champion will be unseeded.

Macall Harkins and Anna Sydorska of TCU took down the No. 3 seeds, Kristi Miller and Whitney McCray of Georgia Tech 8-6, grabbing two breaks and holding on for the win. Sydorska was a doubles finalist at last year's Indoor with Ana Cetnik. Harkins and Sydorska will meet Brook Buck and Kelcy Tefft of Notre Dame in the semifinals on Saturday. Buck and Tefft, down 7-5 with opponents Kellie Schmitt and Karolina Soor of Marshall serving for the match, won four straight games to take a 9-7 decision.

Melanie Gloria and Tinesta Rowe of Fresno State, the No. 4 seeds, fell to Lenka Broosova and Zuzana Zemenova of Baylor 8-6. Broosova and Zemenova will meet Miami's Romy Farah and Caren Seenuth, who defeated the home team's wild card team of Christina Keesey and Angela DiPastina 8-3.

Only the top seeded team remains in the men's draw going into Saturday's semifinal. As they had done in the All-American semifinals last month, Somdev Devvarman and Treat Huey downed Tulsa's Andy Connelly and Ross Cunningham. Using the lob to win several key points, the No. 1-ranked Cavaliers went up two breaks, lost one, but got another to win the match 8-5.

They will meet UNC's Taylor Fogelman and Chris Kearney, who took out the Fredrico Chavaria and Andrei Daescu of Oklahoma 8-3 in a battle of unseeded teams. Robert Farah and Kaes Van't Hof of USC avenged their defeat in the All-American doubles consolation final by using the only break of the match--at 6-6--to take out Denver's Adam Holmstrom and Nik Persson. Farah and Van't Hof's opponents in Saturday's semifinal are Kellen Damico and Luis Diaz Barriga of Texas, who eliminated the Ohio State tandem of Matt Allare and Mike O'Connell 8-3. Damico and Barriga had taken out the No. 2 seeded pairing from Ole Miss, Jonas Berg and Erling Tveit, in Thursday's opening round; Farah and Van't Hof had triumphed over the No. 3 seeded team of Christian Rojmar and Bojan Szumanski of Texas Tech on Thursday.

For complete draws, see itatennis.com.

Marcia Frost of collegeandjuniortennis.com has additional coverage of the ITA Indoor.